What to Pack for Fall & Winter in New York: The Basics

What to Pack for Fall & Winter in New York: The Basics

As Many of you know, this is my first time in New York. Before this, I lived in Orlando and it is always warm there. After watching a bunch of YouTube videos and putting together what I could, I packed my bags for the Big City. Although I did a good job, I can’t help but regret the fact that I didn’t bring cuter clothes. I thought that I should focus on the warmth and not the style… well not as much as I would’ve.

So I’ve gathered for you the items in which i think are the essentials. There will be videos on how I style each of these items in the near future, but now I will be sharing the reason, price, and et cetra of each item and why they are essential.

So, starting from the top…:

1. A Beanie- A beanie is not only great for bad hair days, but for cold, rainy, or snowy days as well. (As well is an Umbrella) {eBay; $2.00}

2. A Scarf- Keeps you warm and toasty around your chin, neck, shoulders, and chest area. Very Important because you’re layers of clothing will cover everything else except or these places. {F21; $5.80}

3. Heavy Sweaters- If you are coming to New York as a tourist, I think that heavy sweaters of some texture- mine is knitted- is good, because you want to keep warm but you aren’t trying to look super hot waking around and seeing the sights. As for new citizens, like myself, I like the heavy sweaters because you don’t have to layer as much. Plus their baggy, over-sized look is very cute with a pair of high-waist jeans and mid-heel booties. {Goodwill; $4.00}

4. Jackets- My first few days here, I wasn’t used to the cold yet and liked to layer up with a jacket over whatever long sleeve I was wearing underneath my coat. Also, when you go into someplace and take your coat off, your outfit doesn’t seem incomplete. {Black with Spikes= Ross; $25.00} {Jean= Goodwill; $5.00}

5. A Coat- In New York, or any other very cold city, your outerwear is the most important peace. Not only does it need to do a proper job, but It’s really the only way you can show off your style during the winter days and nights. So, with that in mind, I didn’t want a regular black or grey coat, but one with color. I have this beautiful St. Johns’s Bay Pea Coat in a deep teal. Though it’s two sizes too big, its perfect for layering, leaving extra room to move around comfortably.You also want to make sure that you’re coat has full inside lining, that what keeps the warmth in. My coat is lined with silk. {Retail Price $ 200.00; Goodwill; $5.00}

6. Jeans- Although, not truly necessary, jeans make the most sense in a fashion yet warming sense. You can buy really cool and fashionable jeans and dress the up or down, depending on the occasion or event. I mostly wear shorts with tights, but during my first week, I stopped by the Forever 21 in Union Square and bought a pair of light, distressed, and mid-high waist jeans. I love them. I got them a size too big and recommend you do the same, so on the really cold days, you can put a pair of light or long john’s underneath to keep you extra toasty. {F21; $24.80}

7.Gloves- gloves are important to keep your hand toasty. I perfer to use a short strapped bag that sit in the crook of my arm than number 8. So, sometimes my left hand get cold and I like to slip on a glove to warm up my hand. However, I do recommend that you invest in a pair of gloves that allows you to use your touch screen phone, whether the mittens with the button able flap, or the new and cool 5-finger gloves where a few of the fingers tips are textured differently, just for your phone. I am constantly pulling my thumb out of my gloves so that I can text or take a photo. {Target; $2.50}

8. A Cross-body Bag- I think that these bags are better for tourist and commuters using the subway. If I had a bag with an adjustable strap, I would use it instead of my “arm candy” bag. So check your local Target, American Eagle, Charlotte Russe, Ross, etc. I need to invest in one and I suggest you do the same. 🙂 {Steve Madden; $78.00}

9. Boots & Sneakers- Boots because hello, they scream winter and cold wheather. But, also because they are warm but stylish. Boots are the perfect choice when you actually have somewhere to be and you need to look cute. For all you tourist, I suggest you pack sneakers. sneakers- no matter what kind- are great for walking around in all day. I made a mistake of wearing boots for sight seeing one day, and well, I regretted it the following day. Not only did it do damage to my boots, but it also made my feet hurt terribly. So destination-boots; walking & talking- sneakers. {Boots= JustFab; $30.00} {Sneakers= Vans; $45.00}

Hope you enjoyed my little how to… Fill free to ask for anything else you wanna see in the future.

XOXO,
Tree ❤

Leave a comment